What I know.

© Noelle Garnier, 2012

I heard this song for the first time at 3:30 this morning while I was awake looking at pictures and thinking about the children I love and miss so dearly. It gives words to the simultaneous extreme hope and extreme pain of going, seeing, loving, leaving, and returning very much changed to a world very much the same. 

Lyrics to “I Saw What I Saw” by Sara Groves.

I saw what I saw and I can’t forget it,
I heard what I heard and I can’t go back,
I know what I know and I can’t deny it.

Something on the road cut me to the soul.

Your pain has changed me
Your dream inspires
Your face a memory
Your hope a fire
Your courage asks me what I’m afraid of
and what I know of love.

We’ve done what we’ve done and we can’t erase it,
We are what we are and it’s more than enough,
We have what we have but it’s no substitution.

Something on the road cut me to the soul.

I say what I say with no hesitation,
I have what I have and I’m giving it up,
I do what I do with deep conviction.

Something on the road cut me to the soul.

Your courage asks me what I’m afraid of
Your courage asks me what I am made of
Your courage asks me what I’m afraid of
and what I know of love
and what I know of God.

2 thoughts on “What I know.

  1. your pictures are lovely. and your heart is lovely also. it’s been stamped by something different, having gone and seen, hasn’t it? it hurts but it’s good. keep growing. keep clinging to the Promises.

Leave a Reply

