Where I belong.

Still looking for a home in a world where I belong.

I was folding another shirt into the new cherry-red suitcase when I heard that line again. It resonated.

I’ve never left the east coast. Never been on a plane.

Tomorrow morning I’ll leave my hometown, drive north, and take a direct flight to Mumbai, carry-on heaping with Tolstoy, Lewis, and the thundering Bonhoeffer. Another flight south, and the beginning of ten days immersed in fellowship and ministry at Carmel School in Tamil Nadu. Return to Mumbai, the city where so much began. Feel it, capture it, come back home.

But every day I realize more that “home” is not this place I’m sitting.

“Even the sparrow finds a home, and the swallow a nest for herself, where she may lay her young, at Your altars, O LORD of hosts, my King and my God.” (Psalm 84:3 ESV)

Home is before His throne. Home is at the heart of God. Home is ever-changing, yet unchanging. Flexible, intangible, yet concrete.

It has been a season of struggle and change. Home is the most appealing concept imaginable right now. But it isn’t something you find by staying and settling. If home is at the heart of God, home is in the pursuit of His heart. Pilgrimage.

The big boy (a.k.a Nikon D70) is coming with me. I can’t wait to show you what I discover of home in moments, faces, creations. I anticipate abundant beauty.

Cheers.

(Image via Tumblr.)

11 thoughts on “Where I belong.

  1. My prayers go with you as you travel– May you feel His presence every step of the way… And may many hearts see His Spirit through you…

  2. “Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in Heaven.” -Matthew 5:16

    Godspeed, Noelle. You are in my prayers constantly! =)

  3. Oh, India! I’ve been there- and many times it wrung my heart. I pray that God would grant you peace, safety- and a multitude of opportunities to reach and bless the oppressed and lost.

  4. Alright Miss Noelle…..know that we are praying for you and your team and trusting God for all your needs. May God use you in sweet ways…..and may He reveal more of Himself as you reach out with His love!

  5. Will be waiting for lots of pictures and posts! I just want to say that you write sooo eloquently and well! Would like to know your secrets… ;) Also, I was just wondering – the pictures that accompany your posts – are they taken by you? I’m trying to find ways of more creatively writing a blog post… and you seem to do it really nicely… yeah. Well, hope you have fun!
    And I also agree about the thoughts are finding “home”…

    Jane

  6. Hey Noelle,
    Please know that we are praying for you as you embark on this amazing adventure with Jesus! May your faith be grown through this experience. May the Lord wrap you in His arms of safety, comfort and peace. Keep you eyes focused on Him, trusting Him in everything. So excited for you and can’t wait to hear all the Lord is going to do in and through you! :)

  7. Looking very much forward to seeing what you bring back with you! Give the big boy a good workout, and save lots of stories to tell us!

    God be with you and your team Noelle, and may you be bold in His love every step of the way to all you encounter. Be praying for you, my friend. =)

  8. what a shame you didn’t leave me with the password to seeing beauty while you were gone, to keep the seeingbeauty audience on the edge of their seats. nammmmaste.

Leave a Reply

