The fourth of May.

There are very few Hollywood personalities I’ve ever aspired to be like, but there is one. I have a calendar full of her pictures. I often wear a t-shirt with a picture of one of her iconic roles on it. Some of her films are my favorites. One time while I was watching one, my brother walked by and said “Oh. So that’s who you try to dress like.” Yes …

Audrey Hepburn would have been eighty-two today.

She made a name for her brunette, pixie-like self in the era that favored Marilyn Monroe. Growing up, she was a dedicated ballerina and was discovered dancing in the background of various ballets. She had a lifelong reputation of ineffable grace, excellent personal style, a gracious demeanor, bright-eyed vivacity, and sincere humility.

There has not yet been another one like her. I browsed an article earlier today which featured recent sightings of “Audrey-inspired celebrity style,” but none could come close to her original understated beauty. Nor do many carry themselves as she did. I’ve yet to observe a celebrity who has the same level of gracious poise.

Why do I consider her a personal inspiration?

Her elegance. Her humility. Her recognition that beauty isn’t brazen. Her wit. Her charming personality. Her generosity and love of people.

She just had something you rarely see these days. A certain dignity that has been left to the wayside. A surprising sweetness. Something lovely. Something I wish existed a little more today.

Maybe someday there will be another.

“It’s that wonderful old-fashioned idea that others come first and you come second. This was the whole ethic by which I was brought up. Others matter more than you do, so ‘don’t fuss, dear; get on with it.'”

“People, even more than things, have to be restored, renewed, revived, reclaimed, and redeemed; never throw out anyone.”

“Nothing is impossible, the word itself says ‘I’m possible!'”

— Audrey Hepburn, 1929-1993


10 thoughts on “The fourth of May.

  1. Totally agree! She is one of the classiest ladies to ever grace Hollywood. I can only hope our generation can reclaim a little bit of the elegance she had.

    “For beautiful eyes, look for the good in others; for beautiful lips, speak only words of kindness; and for poise, walk with the knowledge that you are never alone.” One of my favorites by her. ♥

    Fellow Rebelutionary,
    RuthAnne

    • That is another great quote, RuthAnne! As it turns out, Audrey loved quoting people, too — the original verse is by Sam Levenson. :)

  2. Audrey Hepburn is probably my favorite Hollywood star!! Her style is one that never seems to go “out of date” and she is modest…something that most current stars have no sense of. She certainly has the Beauty of Simplicity. My favorite of her movies is Roman Holiday! One day, I hope to have daringness to try the haircut she had in that movie :-P

    I find it very fitting that your birthday is so close to hers, Noelle =)

  3. I should try to see more of her movies. The only one I’m familiar with is My Fair Lady (love that movie!)

    Is that a deer she has in the store with her? Great picture =)

Leave a Reply

