Why it matters.

“From Zion, perfect in beauty, God shines forth.” Psalm 50:2

image via Tumblr

Beauty…
teaches us about the nature of God.
awakens us to the reality of heaven and reminds us of the Beautiful One we know and love.
draws us to the gates of heaven and beckons us towards eternity.
opens our eyes to see the unseen.
shines through the darkness.

I heard the following song on Sara Groves’ 2005 release “Add to the Beauty” and heard my life’s greatest love put to words. It describes exactly what I mean by “seeing beauty,” why I am so determined to share it, and, as the title says, why it matters.

Why It Matters
by Sara Groves

Sit with me and tell me once again
Of the story that’s been told us
Of the power that will hold us
Of the beauty, of the beauty
Why it matters

Speak to me until I understand
Why our thinking and creating
Why our efforts of narrating
About the beauty, of the beauty
And why it matters

Like a statue in the park
Of this war torn town
And its protest of the darkness
And the chaos all around
With its beauty, how it matters
How it matters

Show me the love that never fails
The compassion and attention
Midst confusion and dissention
Like small ramparts for the soul
How it matters

Like a single cup of water
How it matters

3 thoughts on “Why it matters.

    • Matthew! How good to hear from you! This is not actually one of my own pictures (found via Tumblr), but I do love photography and I shoot with a Nikon D70. My photography blog is colorivivaci.wordpress.com.

Leave a Reply

