Valentine

Happy Valentine’s Day.

Life, how do I love thee? Let me count the ways.

One, I love life when I look around and everyone is happy.
Two, I love life when I hear a song that you just can’t sit still through.
Three, I love life on road trips.
Four, I love life when staying up late just to talk to far-away friends.
Five, I love life at Caps practice with my brothers.
Six, I love life at the end of a big, successful project.
Seven, I love life during Audrey Hepburn movies.
Eight, I love life in the middle of long letters from people I love.
Nine, I love life at weddings, watching people marry and looking forward to it.
Ten, I love life at night in the city, surrounded by sky-high lights.
Eleven, I love life at night in the mountains … surrounded by sky-high lights.
Twelve, I love life when I look at pictures from the best summer of my life so far, even if it makes me cry. (Awkward oil spill.) (That’s a shoutout.)
Thirteen, I love life at the end of a long run, flying on nothing but adrenaline and determination.
Fourteen, I love life when I walk through the cherry blossom trees in Washington in April.
Fifteen, I love life when the piano sings under my fingers, like it has a mind of its own.
Sixteen, I love life when every shadow of loneliness is banished by wonderful people.
Seventeen, I love life alongside people who know the value of prudence balanced by episodes of hysterical laughter.
Eighteen, I love life when it makes sense … but I still love life even when it doesn’t.
Nineteen, I love life during moments of triumphant celebration.
Twenty, I love life during moments of silent repose.
Twenty-one, I love life when making outrageously far-fetched plans for hypothetical vacations to Paris with friends.
Twenty-two, I love life when setting level-headed goals that get me one step closer to the dream for the future.
Twenty-three, I love life when doing things that matter, large or small.
Twenty-four, I love life when I think of something that is truly happy and just can’t keep from smiling.
Twenty-five, I love life when the priorities are in place.

I can hardly begin. Will it suffice to say that I love life?

How do you love life? Count the ways.

5 thoughts on “Valentine

  1. 1. I love life on sixty-five degree days.
    2. I love life when having a deep discussion with a friend.
    3. I love life when I pull a hand-written letter out of the mail-box.
    4. I love life while baking cookies or muffins or cakes or pies.
    5. I love life when I am holding a newborn baby.
    6. I love life when the flowers are in bloom. (This one can depend on whether I am medicated of not. I have horrendous seasonal allergies, and flowers can be my worst enemy.)
    7. I love life when we are at a family get-together.
    8. I love life when God teaches me something new.
    9. I love life when reading a really good book.
    10. Finally, I love life when I am wearing a very feminine dress on a warm summer day.

    P.S. Even now, whenever I am in an awkward situation, I think about our “awkward oil spills.”

  2. Noelle, it humbles me to see the love that you have for living. I don’t think I count the ways that I love life nearly often or complete enough.

    I love life when God hits me with something I already knew but had forgotten, through an unexpected experience or a friend.

    I love life when I can hear Creation singing to God.

    I love life when I hear an inside-joke and I’m a part of it. (awkward voicemail! =D not sure if anyone remembers that one…)

Leave a Reply

