Let’s have a quotefest.

via starsandsons.tumblr.com

Not gonna lie: I’m been running low on inspiration these days (if you hadn’t already gathered that from the relative infrequency of my postings). Maybe’s it’s writers’ block. Maybe it’s a lack of time to really sit and think out ideas. Maybe it’s misplaced priorities. Whatever it is, an artist hates to feel empty.

So I propose a quotefest. Quotes are a great way to gain insight and get inside another person’s mind. I’ll write out some of my current favorites, and please add to them.

Here are three to get started.

“Beauty is not democratic; she reveals herself more to the few than to the many.” — Lewis

“There is no charm equal to tenderness of heart.” — Jane Austen

“Not all those who wander are lost.” — J.R.R. Tolkien

Now, quote.

16 thoughts on “Let’s have a quotefest.

  1. Put first things first and we get second things thrown in: put second things first and we lose both first and second things – CSLewis

    “Beethoven can write music, thank God, but he can do nothing else on earth.” -Ludwig Van Beethoven

    “Always God’s goodness is the ground of our expectation.” – AW Tozer

    “It’s not that God is #1 on the list, but it’s that God is the list” — Chris Tomlin
    : )

  2. “The mind is not a vessel to be filled but a fire to be kindled.” – Plutarch

    “I am not afraid of storms for I am learning how to sail my ship.” —Louisa May Alcott

    “Make yourselves nests of pleasant thoughts, bright fancies, faithful sayings; treasure-houses of precious and restful thoughts, which care cannot disturb nor poverty take away from you, houses built without hands for your souls to live in.” – unknown [but it lives on my wall, and applies to the theme!]

  3. It’s never too late to be what you might have been – George Eliot

    “If we view the marriage relationship as an opportunity to excel in love, it doesn’t matter how difficult the person is whom we are called to love; it doesn’t matter even whether that love is ever returned. We can still excel at love. We can still say, ‘Like it or not, I’m going to love you like nobody ever has.'” – Gary Thomas

    One for whom a pebble has value must be surrounded by treasures wherever he goes.” Par Largerkvist

    Be resolutely who you are; be humbly who you aspire to be. – a Chinese Fortune Cookie, 1987 (But thanks to Google, I have learned, today, that Henry David Thoreau deserves attribution!)

  4. No wise man ever wished to be younger. – Jonathan Swift

    Rivers know this: there is no hurry. We shall get there some day.” — Winnie the Pooh

    “The objects in stores looked best in stores. The stores were possible futures and, young and poor, we went shopping. It was nice then: we didn’t know we already had everything.” — Faith Shearin

    Read, every day, something no one else is reading. Think, every day, something no one else is thinking. Do, every day, something no one else would be silly enough to do. It is bad for the mind to be always part of unanimity.
    – Christopher Morley

  5. “I have learned to kiss the wave that strikes me against the Rock of Ages.”
    -Charles Spurgeon

    If you always do what you’ve always done, you’ll always get what you’ve always got.
    -Alex Harris

    “The man who never reads will never be read; hw who never quotes will never be quoted. He who will not use the thoughts of other men’s brains proves he has no brains of his own.”
    -Charles Spurgeon

    “The Christian life has not been tried and found lacking; it has been found difficult and left untried.”
    -G.K. Chesterson

    “The only thing you can do for an oil lamp that hasn’t got oil, is put oil in it.”
    -Anonymous

    “I worship and serve a God who when His people seek Him, let’s them find Him.”
    -Anonymous

  6. “To select well among old things, is almost equal to inventing new ones.” – Nicholas Charles Trublet

    “When you’re down to nothing, God is up to something. The faithful see the invisible, believe the incredible, and receive the impossible.”

    “You don’t stop laughing because you grow old… you grow old because you stop laughing” -Milton Berle

    “To win without risk is to triumph without glory” -Corneille

    “If you have built castles in the air, your work need not be lost; that is where they should be. Now put foundations under them.”
    -Henry David Thoreau

    “Happy are those who dream dreams and are ready to pay the price to make them come true.”
    -Leon J. Suenes

    “Winning isn’t everything, but wanting to win is.”
    -Vince Lombardi

    “Ah, but a man’s reach should exceed his grasp,
    or what’s a heaven for?”
    -Robert Browning

  7. Ah, quotes! How I love them! I have at least a hundred I could post; but I’ll limit myself to a choice few sitting nearby. Please pardon the excessive number of them all.

    “Words – so innocent and powerless as they are, as standing in a dictionary, how potent for good and evil they become in the hands of one who knows how to combine them.” – Nathaniel Hawthorne

    “In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about life: it goes on.” – Robert Frost

    “I try all things; I achieve what I can.” – Moby Dick

    “Let me do all the good I can, for all the people I can, as often as I can, for I shall not pass this way again.” – John Wesley

    “Be sure you put your feet in the right place, then stand firm.” – Abraham Lincoln

    “Enjoy the little things in life, for one day you may look back and realize they were the big things.” – Robert Brault

    ‎”Research tells us that fourteen out of any ten individuals like chocolate.” – Sandra Boynton

    “Why do we instinctively know that a plot must have a conflict and resolution? Why are we moved by fall and redemption? Why do we want to tell the hero narrative over and over, unless it’s written on our bones?” – Janie Cheaney

    “Some say that the age of chivalry is past, that the spirit of romance is dead. The age of chivalry is never past, so long as there is a wrong left unredressed on earth.” – Charles Kingsley

    “Friendship is born at that moment when one person says to another, ‘What! You too? I thought I was the only one.” – C. S. Lewis

  8. I love quotes as well. I love reading new ones that just sum up a little piece of life.

    “I believe in Christianity as I believe that the sun has risen: not only because I see it, but because by it I see everything else.” -C.S. Lewis

    “My orders are to fight; Then if I bleed, or fail, Or strongly win, what matters it? God only doth prevail, The servant craveth naught Except to serve with might, I was not told to win or lose- My orders are to fight.” Ethelwyn Wetherald

    “We’re only beautiful when the glory of God shines through us.” -Dr. Albert Mohler

    You must not lay a stumbling-block in their way, nor blow up the fire of their lust…You must walk among sinful persons as you would do with a candle among straw or gunpowder; or else you may see the flame which you did not foresee, when it is too late to quench it.” -Richard Baxter

    “True faith means holding nothing back; it bets everything on the hope of eternity.” Francis Chan

    “Your salvation is only as sure as Christ’s.” -My dad

  9. This blog inspired me to relish quotes more before I even saw this post. I found these in my grammar book and I loved them.

    Experience is a hard teacher because she gives the test first and the lesson afterwards. –Law
    Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on Thee. –Chapin
    If thou wouldst conquer thy weakness, thou must never gratify it. –Penn
    Books are not made for furniture, but there is nothing else that so beautifully furnishes a house. –Henry Ward Beecher
    If you always live with those who are lame, you will yourself learn to limp. –Latin proverb
    The Word of God will stand a thousand readings, and He who has gone over it most frequently is the surest of finding new wonders there. –Hamilton
    O Lord that lends me life, lend me a heart replete with thankfulness! –Shakespeare
    If you are reluctant to ask the way, you will be lost. –Malay Proverb
    It is not doing the thing we like to do, but liking the thing we have to do, that makes life blessed. -Goethe
    When a man has not a good reason for doing a thing, he has one good reason for letting it alone. –Scott

  10. Gee, I feel like I missed out, but here are my late contributions:

    “Truth is always strong, not matter how weak it looks; and falsehood is always weak, no matter how strong it looks.” ~ Phillip Brooks

    “Start by doing what’s necessary; then do what’s possible; and suddenly you are doing the impossible.”
    ~ Francis of Assisi

    “The better one is, the worse one becomes, if one ascribes this excellence to oneself.”
    ~ Pascal, citing Bernard of Clairvaux

    “The greatest danger for most of us is not that our aim is too high and we miss it, but that it is too low and we reach it.” ~ Michelangelo

    “Conquer yourself rather than the world.”
    ~ Rene Descartes

    “You can’t take stuff with you to heaven; but you can take people with you.”
    (my pastor said this, don’t know if he got it from somewhere else)

Leave a Reply

