“Purposive”

 

As you’ve probably noticed, I haven’t been around much these last couple of weeks. Believe me, when I’m not writing I miss it and I have been desperately trying to find two things: 1) Time. 2) Inspiration. I’m still a little short on the first one, but right now I’m going to make some. As for the second, I’ve had an inspiring week. Let me explain.

Have you ever just sat and watched someone do with passion what they were created to do? It’s a remarkable experience.

I’ve seen it several times among artists in just the last three days. One painted pictures I could never transfer from mind to canvas, and it seemed that one could see her inspiration in every brush stroke. Another was a makeup artist whose dedication and enthusiasm for her work was hugely contagious. Both exhibited God’s gift of massive creativity.

When I see someone in their element that way, it makes me ponder my own life and wonder what exactly my “element” is. What was I created to do? Have I done it? Am I doing it? In an abstract sense, I think I was created to capture beauty, but that concept could take many forms. (I would love to someday be an art director for print or film… I don’t know yet if that’s my vocation, but it’s an interest in line with my talents.)

I hope that one day I’ll be able to capture beauty in some medium that causes people to say “She is doing what she was meant to do.” Living that way points people heavenward and causes them to think about their own purpose. God has a plan for each person’s abilities … He even has a plan for their weaknesses. Imperfections are as much part of the plan as talents and gifts. Sometimes they even turn out to be more of a gift than you might think.

If you’re like me and don’t quite know yet what your purpose is, keep searching. God will show you the way.

Many persons have a wrong idea of what constitutes true happiness.
It is not attained through self-gratification but through fidelity to a worthy purpose.

— Helen Keller

2 thoughts on ““Purposive”

  1. Very well put. It is thrilling to see someone immersed in their passion because they move into a whole new realm and state of being when engaged in it. I would say this is true especially in music or the arts because not only are they going on a beautiful journey, but they are able to create a portal through their art to bring us all with them.

    Still in search of my element.

Leave a Reply

