Imperfection

epiphanya sudden, intuitive perception of or insight into the reality or essential meaning of something, usually initiated by some simple, homely, or commonplace occurrence or experience.

It feels like a long time since I’ve written (here). (Long time, as in a whole five days or so.) I’ve been reading, studying, and trying to keep up with classes to the best of my abilities. Whenever I’m not writing, I’m preparing to write. But as I’ve said before, you can’t write without insight. You can’t generate interesting thought from nothing.

The other night, everything was feeling very ordinary … I was sitting at my desk, which I usually do, listening to music, which I usually am, having just written to someone, which is usually the case.

There’s no mistaking an epiphany when it comes. This one could not have been any more relevant to the moment, the struggles, the thoughts, and the needs. But God factors all those things in, doesn’t He?

The message was simple: “The imperfections are part of the plan.”

What a novel idea. It’s a concept that I’ve never understood before now … I have heard many, many pieces of advice such as “focus on the inside,” “everyone’s beautiful just the way they are,” and “it’s good to be different.” (I’m not sure how to reconcile those last two). We’re taught to fix imperfection, cope with imperfection, forget about imperfection, deny imperfection, and disguise imperfection. but admit imperfection, and be thankful for it, and use it for good? Never.

So many new hopes and dreams flooded into my heart at that moment. I’m not even exaggerating. This was not the kind of realization that made me say “Huh! Well, then, I guess everything is fine as it is!” NO! This realization, while it certainly did bring peace, made me want to take action. God does not give epiphanies to make us complacent, He gives epiphanies to offer purpose.

I think this will open the door for some inspired writing and new things to share. Right now I have a strong desire to say things that matter, not fill up empty space.  Things might take a new direction … a more purposeful direction.

I hope so.

-n.

Leave a Reply

