10 (or 11) Great Things About Christmas

The First Great Thing: Christmas decorations that make you laugh. One day, my brother and I were in Target and we found these little neon fiber-optic Christmas trees that plug into your USB port (so that you never have to suffer any amount of time without a Christmas tree, I guess). Why?

The Second Great Thing: Christmas music that is legitimately good. “Last Christmas” is one of my LEAST favorite songs of all time, but this year I’ve heard enough good music to make up for it, I think.

The Third Great Thing: Memorable gifts. I believe in meaningful gift-giving, so one Christmas, my older brother and I gave my younger brother a life-sized cardboard Aragorn cutout, wearing a Christmas hat. While I may have bought it slightly because I wanted it for myself, it was still a good gift.

The Fourth Great Thing: Snow. I’m dreaming of a white Christmas.

The Fifth Great Thing: “WHAT MORE CAN I DO? ALL I WANT FOR CHRISTMAAAAS IS YOUUUUU!” (Every radio station plays it at least a dozen times a day, but I still like it.)

The Sixth Great Thing: Coca-Cola commercials.

The Seventh Great Thing: “It’s A Wonderful Life”

The Eighth Great Thing: Starbucks holiday drinks.

The Ninth Great Thing: Having everybody at home.

The Tenth Great Thing: Nativities.

The Bonus Eleventh Great Thing: Norman Rockwell’s Christmas illustrations.

Please add to the list.

5 thoughts on “10 (or 11) Great Things About Christmas

  1. Eating as much candy as you want without guilt.
    Hot cocoa by a fireplace.
    Jingle Bells by the barking dogs.
    Not having to work.
    The smell of Christmas trees.
    Remembering Jesus!!!!

  2. Ooh! Ooh! “The Muppet Christmas Carol!”, playing Christmas carols on the piano and singing along, family get-togethers, and wishing everyone you meet a Merry Christmas!!!

  3. Hearing Hark the Herald Angels Sing, O Holy Night and other equally amazing carols in public places. What other time does Borders or Starbucks pipe out the truth: ‘Pleased as men with men to dwell, Jesus, our Emmanuel’?

    Peppermint.

    Watching my friends eyes light up when they open presents. :-)

  4. Youth group Christmas parties where you play crazy games and exchange gifts (that are always either amazingly random things that no one knows what to do with or candy).

    Going out into the community on Christmas eve with donuts for the people who have to work that night and seeing their joy and appreciation at being remembered.

    Snow! (if and when it comes)

    A break from school.

    Time especially for remembering Jesus.

Leave a Reply

