Heavenly peace

image via PIAJANEBIJKERK

Isaiah 9: 2, 6

The people walking in darkness
have seen a great light;
on those living in the land of deep darkness
a light has dawned….

For to us a child is born,
to us a son is given,
and the government will be on his shoulders.
And he will be called
Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God,
Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.

One evening, I was playing Christmas carols at the piano and came across “Silent Night” … of course, I have heard the song time after time, but I had not heard it that way for a while. There was nothing unusual about the way I played it, nothing unique about the arrangement, but for the first time, I heard the silence in “Silent Night.”

The reality of how little I know of silence dawned on me. Have you ever felt an indescribable longing for peace in your soul? I think everyone does at one time or another. I don’t long for the kind of peace you’d hear about in a Beatles song or the peace of a Utopian society. It’s more of a desire for rest: resting in God’s promises, resting in God’s love, resting in the joy of knowing Him.

Sentiments of peace are everywhere at Christmastime, reflecting a universal longing. Perhaps that is part of the reason God the Father sent Jesus as an infant — to portray peace. Surely there is no more poignant picture of rest than a baby sleeping despite the agitation and disturbance of the surrounding world. Surely one of the most peaceful moments in all of history was when the Light of the World slept in a manger on a starry night, resting in His Father’s love before bringing the Good News to the world.

Perhaps the longing is yet another reminder that we were made to be with Him.

3 thoughts on “Heavenly peace

  1. “Have you ever felt an indescribable longing for peace in your soul?”

    Yes! The perfect peace and rest of heaven. Your image of the nativity reminds me of T.S. Eliot:”At the still point of the turning world. Neither flesh nor fleshless; Neither from nor towards; at the still point, there the dance is.”

    May we spend eternity learning that dance.

  2. Yes… to experience true rest and peace. That is what every soul ultimately longs for…

    Isn’t it ironic that many people consider Christmastime the most stressful and tumultuous season of the year? We’ve largely forgotten “Peace on earth and goodwill to man.”

    May we learn to sleep in heavenly peace this season, knowing that we are in the arms of the Prince of Peace.

  3. Hi Noelle, I just discovered your blog via the Rebelution… your vision is so cool, and it’s something I’ve tried to do on my blog as well.
    You’re very right. There have been times in this last month where I’ve been at complete peace, despite some difficult circumstances in my life. Yet that peace awakens in me such a longing for more, to know more and more of Christ. Every time I see something of beauty, I feel an overwhelming longing– Sheldon Vanauken calls it “the pain of beauty” in his book A Severe Mercy. Thanks for sharing and inspiring me today! :)

Leave a Reply

