Conclusion: The Thanks Given Project

image via audreyhepburncomplex

Many thanks to all who have so far participated in Thanks Given. It was a joy to read all of your replies. But perhaps I’ve mis-titled this post, because this isn’t really the conclusion, but the beginning. (More about that later.) Right now, it’s time to share the replies I’ve already received, but I want you all to know that the project is still open. If new replies come, they will be added immediately. I hope that reading these will inspire you and remind you of the blessings in your life.
Without further ado, let us commence.

 

It’s so hard to limit what I’m thankful for, so I’ve just listed
some of the things that have particularly stuck out to me this past year that I’m grateful for.
~a dear family
~direct answers to prayer
~going on a mission trip to Panama
~friends who give me a shoulder to cry on and laugh with me
~special memories
~spending almost 6 weeks on a Native Reservation, serving and loving
~laughter
~my parents’ wisdom and guidance
~God’s perfect timing and plans, even when I’m confused and unsure
~His Word
~opportunities to share Jesus with countless people
~traveling
~the Lord’s protection while almost paralyzed from a spider bite
~”little” things: a smile, hug from a three-year-old, frosting on my cheek, a thoughtful card, the wind in my face,
~and most of all, my Savior, Jesus Christ
Joanna of Bloom!

I’m thankful that I live in America. The “land of the free and home of the brave.”  I’m grateful for the men who put “their lives, their fortunes, and their sacred honor,” on the line, for eight grueling years, so that we might have the God-given freedoms that we enjoy today.  Freedoms we all to often take for granted.  I’m also grateful that God gave us men like Ronald Reagan, who reminded us that freedom isn’t free, that it is “never more than one generation away from extinction.”  Imagine if the founding fathers had said, “We can’t do this.  We’re just a bunch farmers trying to take on the greatest power in the world.”  Imagine if they just gave up and went home.  If they had, well, I doubt I’d be writing these words today.  “I’m Proud to Be an American, Where at least I know I’m free, and I won’t forget the men died, who gave that right to me.”  God bless the USA.
— Sam P., 15

I am thankful for:
God’s amazing grace,
Jesus Christ,
My salvation,
The freedom to worship God,
Little children (they make life so much fun),
My family,
Thanksgiving and Christmas,
The opportunity to be educated,
My friends,
The many opportunities God has given me,
My Church,
Color (the world would be a boring place without it),
Cheesecake,
and much, much more!
— Sarah R., 16
I am thankful for beauty, and the art that expresses it. Lately, I’ve been learning a lot about beauty and art’s relationship with the Christian life, and it’s helped me realize how much I love (and should love) beauty for its own sake. …Truly great art, whether in drawing, music, singing, dance, acting, writing, etc., is about capturing beauty and reflecting the One who created and embodies it. I love being able to have a part in that by enjoying the artistry of others and creating art myself. I thank God for making me an artist.
I am thankful for the relationships that God has placed in my life. I just love the way that God knows how to use other people to bring joy to my life and to shape me. Being with friends and just laughing with them is what I enjoy most, and it is often through my relationships that God decides to teach me. There is much to be gained from a healthy relationship.
I am thankful for the sources of wisdom and insight in my life that God has provided me….
Lastly, as I strive to be more useful to God, I am increasingly more thankful that it’s not about me. I find it a great comfort that God is in control over everything, and I’m just grateful that no matter how much I’ve failed Him, He’ll still work it all out somehow. God doesn’t need me, He can fulfill His purpose without my help. But He’s called me to be a part of His plan, and now that I am, thank goodness that He can still complete His purpose despite the fact that He’ll be doing part of it through me.
–Tim H., 16

I couldn’t be any more thankful for the blessing of a family that loves and serves God, and creatively shares God’s love with others.
— Michael G.

Besides the normal things like friends, family, food, a house, etc…. I’m thankful for freedom. That might seem like a broad answer, but just walk outside and take a breath of air. Or look at our nation’s capital up close, knowing that anyone can vote and even a little kid can make a difference is what truly sets America apart from every other country in the world. And it’s all thanks to the pilgrims who sailed on over on the Mayflower and other ships in order to escape the persecution because they wanted a better life for themselves and their kids. If they could see how far we’ve come and the great country we’ve created I think they’d be moved to tears. So that’s what I’m thankful for.
Catherine T., 17

I am thankful for my family. — Alyrica M., 15

I am thankful for freedom. So many people every single day forget that people are fighting so that we can go … to church without fearing for our very lives. Freedom is taken for granted. Men and women die every day to preserve [our] freedom. They put their lives on the line and have amazing courage. But courage doesn’t come without fear. Courage is having fear and trusting that God will have His perfect way.
How do you think our servicemen and women feel when protest their effort or say that they are “wasting their time?” They sacrifice time with their family to protect your family. Whenever [my family] sees a member of the military, we
thank them for their service, for their time, and for the sacrifice. They have families that suffer. They have children they’ve never met because they were [overseas] when their baby was born. And so many of them are desperately lost and without a Savior.
So, on this Thanksgiving, I encourage everyone to be thankful for their freedom, [including] the freedom of speech and of religion. Pray for our leaders and do what you can to make a positive influence on our government. Pray that others will wake up to the battle at hand. Pray that others will wake up to the battle at hand. Not just the battle in Iraq or Afghanistan, but the battle for our souls …
— Valerie E., 15

For my car that purrs
For my cat’s soft fur
My husband’s hands
For God’s best plans 

My children’s health
Our undeserved wealth
The warmth of sun
My sense of fun

The simple pleasures
Too many to measure
For God above and
His perfect LOVE.
–Sally M.

Salvation and a close relationship with Christ, family and friends, freedom, [the] USA, health, wealth, technology, education (especially the ability …to learn ANYTHING you want to), home, sustenance, animals (most of them), foliage, weather and seasons, holidays, beautiful music, books and the ability to read, variety of clothes, people with a smile, rare opportunities, [any kind of] talent, thoughtful gifts/notes, outreach groups, mail, raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens, [and] gratitude (yes, I am grateful for gratitude).
— Katherine P., 16

My wonderful husband and sweet baby boy!!!
Francesca Battistelli, CCM singer and songwriter

I’m thankful for the gift of marriage and for God’s presence.
–Rachel Dahl of A La Modest

Diversity, snow, peaches, violins, color, laughter, heroism, nobility, and courage, the art of storytelling, fire, photographs, camaraderie, mini schnauzers, song.
— Brennan G.

God’s love for me, a wonderful family, great friends, the gift of life — physically and spiritually, the truth about the gospel, willingness to do more and the desire to help others.
M.Y.R., 16

All of creation
Changed lives
Kind people
Evidence of love
The ability to give
Renewal
Amazing grace
Truth and the certainty of absolutes
Life, beginning to end
Hope and joy
But it’s hard to scratch the surface, isn’t it?
–NG

 

 

3 thoughts on “Conclusion: The Thanks Given Project

  1. Huzzah! What a (not really) conclusion!!! :D

    It is hard to scratch the surface… God is good.

    This was a great idea Noelle. Thank you for stirring us to think about and share what we are grateful for.

  2. After a stroke, I was learning to walk the same week my young daughter was learning this skill for the first time. I am thankful we hold hands and walk strongly together now. I am thankful that through the sight I lost, I have been able to gain such an amazing vision of all the beauty held in this world. I am so thankful to be alive!

    Tara

Leave a Reply

