Little, part I

Some “little” things are anything but. Some little things can change a life –or save one. Here are just a few small things that are really immense. Perhaps they’re even oxymorons.

Little joys

Somehow, the most spectacular moments of one’s life can be so simple. Glimpsing someone who exudes happiness, reuniting with a loved one, meeting a new baby for the first time are all moments that cultivate joy and hope in your heart. Even something as simple as watching leaves fall or looking up at the stars gives you an appreciation for your Creator that changes your whole perspective.

Little lessons

Find the lesson in each frustrating situation, because it might help you later on. On Sunday afternoon, I learned that common sense comes in handy more often than you might think. I was so determined to follow a recipe exactly that I stood there and watched a whole pot of homemade caramel burn to blackened sludge, presuming that it would turn out correctly because I was doing just what the recipe directed. Please learn from my mistake. If sugar starts to smoke and blacken, things can only go downhill from there. That’s an example of a little lesson. I’ll try not to learn by experience next time.

Little gifts

Have you ever had someone give you a gift simply because they thought of you, simply because they love you? I have. Reminding someone of your love in a tangible way is one of the kindest things you can do, because she will know every time they she sees it that you care about her and remembered her, not because her name showed up on your computer screen, but because God laid her on your heart.

Little breakthroughs

Isn’t it great when you make a realization or a discovery that simplifies tasks or clarifies circumstances? It is wonderful to have something truly wise dawn on you and know Who it came from.  Small flashes of brilliance sometimes make a difference. Small flashes of God always make a difference.

Little reminders

Let me remind you that you are loved by God. Let me remind you that you are loved by me. Let me remind you that your life is precious and irreplaceable. Let me remind you that your choices now will affect you in the future. Let me remind you that you have the potential to change someone’s life immensely. Let me remind you that you can bless those around you by showing kindness, love and sincerity. Let me remind you that today matters.

{several more coming soon.}

7 thoughts on “Little, part I

  1. Splendid and uplifting post, as usual! :) Reminds me of a quote I read once by Robert Brault:

    ‎”Enjoy the little things, for one day you may look back and realize they were the big things.” – Robert Brault

  2. Brennan, that’s the exact quote I thought of when I first read this post! (great minds think alike about other great minds ;) )

    Noelle, I think I can say this for all of us: thanks for the many little joys, little lessons, little gifts, little breakthroughs, and little reminders that you give us through your posts.

    “Who [with reason] despises the day of small things?”
    ~ Zechariah 4:10, King James

Leave a Reply

