Real.

Do you ever get the feeling that you’d like to exchange some things for others that are more … real?

Today, I felt like exchanging my computer for a typewriter, just to see how it feels and hear how it sounds. I’d like to exchange all my favorite photo blogs for one gigantic album so that I can turn the pages and look at printed pictures. Exchange my Grooveshark account for a turntable and record collection. Exchange a whole box of cheap jewelry for one diamond. Exchange all the Redbox rentals for a single ticket to Shakespeare. Exchange most of my belongings for simplicity. Exchange “boredom” for “time to sit back and enjoy being alive and loved.” Trade a thousand lines of Google chat for one day with someone. Trade a million minutes of small talk for the truth when I ask “How are you?” Trade the air-conditioning for autumn breeze. “Updates” for “let’s catch up!” A bunch of snapshots for one photograph. All the excuses for one good reason. A bunch of griping for one good cry. A dozen smirks for one good laugh. Hair as neat as a pin for windblown tresses. A “better” exterior for a “best” interior. Someone I know for someone I love. Binoculars for a kaleidoscope. A week of scattered showers for a massive downpour that fills the creek and makes a waterfall out of the windows. Like for cherish. Pages and pages of writing for one brilliant sentence to sum it all up. Everything cheap and alluring for everything valuable and captivating.

One thought on “Real.

  1. Do I? “Boredom for time to sit back and enjoy being alive and loved”? “Belongings for simplicity”? “Pages and pages of writing for one brilliant sentence to sum it all up”?

    You have no idea.

Leave a Reply

