What I need.

I’ve been asking myself a lot of questions recently, trying to sort out my priorities and realize what my true needs are and what needs to be thrown out.

There are a lot of things that I feel like I need. I feel like I need time, recognition, money, and a relationship. I feel like I need … more. More people. More popularity. More brands. More options. More chances. More of what I desperately want.

But thank heaven I don’t have to be a slave to everything I feel. I do not have to listen to everything my emotions tell my heart.

The reality is a bit different. What I need is to walk with the Lord. What I need is to love people and find the unstoppable joy that results. What I need is to become the best version of myself instead of a second-rate version of someone else. What I need is to close breaches in relationships. What I need is to stop regretting/resenting events in the distant past. What I need is to take advantage of the opportunities I’ve been given and live the best life possible right where I am.

I don’t consider myself a realist, but in this case, reality wins.

2 thoughts on “What I need.

  1. Yeah, a lot of times I find myself fretting about the present (and the future) too. But exactly, what we need is to walk with the Lord. A person once asked, “How do I know what God’s will is for my life?” A man answered his question, “Love the Lord your God with all your heart, mind, soul, and strength, and do whatever you want.” :-)

    So very encouraging, Noelle! Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

