Intrigue, part 1.

Today during study hall, I blogged  (albeit on notebook paper). You can read it below.

Could be a challenge. I’ll go ahead and type it out.

I’m going to take a look at the idea of “intrigue” … I don’t know how many parts it will turn out to be, but I will call this “part one.”

My favorite way to meet people is in line at stores. In my opinion, there are two kinds of people: those who whine about the length of the line and those who take the opportunity to start a good conversation. A couple of weeks ago, I met a wonderful school teacher from Camarun (also spelled Cameroon, Camaroun) as we waited for the cashier in Macy’s. She had one of the most beautiful accents I’ve ever heard and the most charismatic personality I’ve ever encountered. This lady explained to my family and I that she had worked as both a French teacher and an ESL instructor. She inquired about my education and my brothers’, encouraged us in our studies, and listened enthusiastically as we explained about the way we do school. Before leaving, she shook hands with each of us and wished us well. (I think I understand now why British people are so fond of their queues.) I have met only a few people as instantly endearing as she was.

There’s something fascinating about meeting people whom you know you will never see again. Some people take advantage of that fact and use it as an excuse for rudeness, but that is really a thoughtless waste of a priceless opportunity. People often ask, “If you could be remembered for one thing, what would it be?” Well … every anonymous person you interact with in a day will either remember you for something or not. They might remember your expression, your walk, something they heard you say — it could be anything, good or bad. Wouldn’t it be great if your life were so filled with peace, love, and doing good that people could see those qualities if they saw you only one time briefly, perhaps in line at a store? Wouldn’t it be wonderful for someone to remember how courteous, patient, or self-controlled you were despite some inconvenience? When ordinary people see other ordinary people living extraordinarily, they want to imitate it. We should not settle for simply being exceptions — “exceptionally” nice, “exceptionally” friendly — but strive to be examples, encouraging and inspiring others to do the right thing as well.

If you set the example, others will be intrigued.

One thought on “Intrigue, part 1.

  1. We appreciate you typing it out for us, Noelle. :)

    Nobody wants to be boring persay, but too few of us make an effort to be intriguing. There’s something truly intriguing about someone who you can see shining through the moment you meet them.

    Being someone who loves theater, I’ve tried to develop an eye for people with expression. Some people, the minute you see them, you know that “This person’s an actor,” or “This person’s a dancer.” I’ve seen this even with very young kids. A single snapshot of their life is enough for you to see what they love to do.

    “There’s something fascinating about meeting people whom you know you will never see again.”

Leave a Reply

