“I am doing a new thing.”

Isaiah 43:18-19

Remember not the former things, nor consider the things of old. Behold, I am doing a new thing; now it springs forth, do you not perceive it? I will make a way in the wilderness and rivers in the desert.

These verses come from a chapter in which the Lord is declaring himself Israel’s only savior, the only one who can forgive their sins. Chapter 43 is full of powerful words used to describe the power of God. But the words that stood out to me from these verses specifically were “I am doing a new thing … do you not perceive it?”

I have felt for a long time that God is doing a new thing in my life. The song I posted a while ago, “New Day” by Tamar Kaprelian, has been a “theme song” of sorts ever since I heard it  months ago. It seemed coincidental when the singer released a new video for the song on my birthday (a milestone year!). Though I preferred the original video, it seemed to be a reminder from God that He was going to bring newness to my life as I left behind different struggles I had encountered during the last two years.

Because Satan is not a fan of newness, he has been reminding me of a lot of “former things” and “things of old.” By “reminding me” I mean pulling out old issues I thought were over, playing on my weaknesses, and second-guessing the things I know to be true. Writing and thinking about my feelings on these things produced no good solutions. I was reminded today during my Bible study that all the positive self-talk in the world cannot take the place of prayer. In Luke 22: 31-32, Jesus says to Peter “Simon, Simon, behold, Satan demanded to have you, that he might sift you like wheat, but I have prayed for you that your faith may not fail. And when you have turned again, strengthen your brothers.” (Imagine having Jesus himself pray for you. That’s an incredible thing to start with.) I am aware that Satan wants to sift out all of God’s work in my life through the “sieve” of insecurity, uncertainty, desperation, and selfishness. But I also know that because of Christ’s presence in me, I am a new creation, and Satan can’t change that. When the present battle is won, I am called to turn and strengthen my brothers and sisters through prayer. This is something God has laid on my heart — intercessory prayer is one way He wants me to support my friends right now.

Going back to the verse from Isaiah, I was also encouraged by the words “I will make a way in the wilderness and rivers in the desert.” This has recently come alive in various ways as new people and renewed relationships have burst  into my life like rivers in the desert. God is making sure that everything is in place for this new thing to happen. Everyone goes through times when they feel like there is no way through the valley … God promises to send a way, whether it is through a person, a message, a provision, or anything else He chooses to use. Another verse in Isaiah chapter 43 says “I work, and who can turn it back?” He will carry you through. He will do a new thing.

Leave a Reply

