Worrying

don't be that guy

“Worry does not empty tomorrow of its sorrow; it empties today of its strength.” Corrie ten Boom

Given how much I dislike worrying, you’d wonder why I do it so much. The list of things I worry about in an average day is laughably long: Do my clothes look all right? Did I exercise enough yesterday? Will I ever finish this book? (What if I don’t?) Am I having enough fun? Why doesn’t someone invite me over? Why haven’t I gotten more things done? What if my GPA is low? What if I have to work a desk job? What if I never get a job? What if nobody marries me? What if I don’t travel the world and have a great house and write books and make movies and have a picket fence and a rose garden? What’s going to happen then?

Perhaps some of my own worrying is from excessive expectations. The truth is, there are some things that won’t happen the way I want, and there are days when I won’t get very much done. But more importantly, nothing is going to become any more or less likely because I worried about it. Worrying doesn’t help a thing. It just keeps you from being effective now.

Besides, nobody enjoys the company of someone who is constantly anxious. How can you help someone shoulder the weight of their burdens when you are always consumed with your own? God knows your needs, and His plan takes all things into consideration. He can always think of a better idea than you can, so let Him astound you with His creativity.

Matthew 6: 25-34

“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?

And why do you worry about clothes? See how the lilies of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

One thought on “Worrying

  1. Having high expectations may certainly feed your worry, but ultimately, I don’t think the expectations are the problem. The solution to worrying is trusting in God, not lowering your expectations. Some people believe that to live always expecting the worst is the better way to go, because if things go well, you’ll be pleasantly surprised, and if they don’t, well at least you won’t be disappointed. But I’m not convinced that that’s the best way to live.

    To live with high expectations, but with hope and trust in God is the life I would rather have. Sure, I probably won’t get it just the way I want, but I believe that if we trust God fully, He will always exceed our expectations, no matter how high we try to set them on an earthly level. Of course, if our expectations exceed the trust we have that God has the best plan for our lives (in other words, we are disappointed the moment our expectations aren’t fufilled the way we wanted them to be), there is no reason we should expect God to try to fufill them. Like you said, God always has the best idea, so why worry if He’s got it all under control?

Leave a Reply

