“I gave my life for thee.”

I opened my hymnal today and found this hymn by Frances Havergal.

I gave My life for thee, My precious blood I shed,
That thou might ransomed be, and raised up from the dead
I gave, I gave My life for thee, what hast thou given for Me?

My Father’s house of light, My glory circled throne
I left for earthly night, for wanderings sad and lone;
I left, I left it all for thee, hast thou left aught for Me?

I suffered much for thee, more than thy tongue can tell,
Of bitterest agony, to rescue thee from hell.
I’ve borne, I’ve borne it all for thee, what hast thou borne for Me?

And I have brought to thee, down from My home above,
Salvation full and free, My pardon and My love;
I bring, I bring rich gifts to thee, what hast thou brought to Me?

One thought on ““I gave my life for thee.”

  1. Hmm, interesting hymn. It’s powerful to reflect on the truth of those lyrics, in everything that Jesus sacrificed for us. It also really challenges us in our walk with God, in terms of how much we are willing to give, after Christ gave it all.

    However, I’d imagine that it would be easy for a non-believer to misinterpret or distort what the hymn actually means. It’s easy to change the tone of the song completely and make the Jesus saying those words very demanding, bitter, sarcastic, and sardonic. (So that it reads more like this: “I’ve given you this, so you owe me. And what have you given me?”)

    But as Christians, we know that nothing could be farther from the truth. Jesus died for us not because of anything we had to offer, not because of any compensation he could collect from us afterwards. He did it selflessly, and calls us to new life, as new creations and citizens of heaven (which are some of the gifts He gives us). But by definition, to become a child of God and to be walking in the light, you must be born again and commit your life to God. It is only then, when you make the decision to live for God and not yourself, that these gifts can become yours.

    And so Jesus urges us to live our lives completely and fully for Him, so that we may know every good thing we have in Him. Not to mention the fact that He has sacrificed so much for us, if we loved Him at all, we would give whatever we have, however great or small, to Him.

    What have we given for Him? What have we left for Him? What have we borne for Him? And what have we brought to Him?

Leave a Reply

