Your corner of the forest.

3 thoughts on “Your corner of the forest.

  1. Ahh, the wisdom of Winnie the Pooh…

    This is so true, but often so hard to live out. When I’m among a pool of strangers at a party or whatever, I know I would rather stay in “my corner” by myself or with whoever I already know (I have a friend who has a T-shirt that says “I live in my own little world, but that’s okay. They know me here.”) I hug my comfort zone, and hope that if something’s going to change, it’ll start with someone else.

    But I know from personal experience that it’s always more rewarding if I take the initiative and venture forth. And besides, what if we all thought that way? (Too many of us do already.)

    This quote sounds like it’s mostly referring to making new friends (which is what I was just commenting about of course), but I think it applies equally to witnessing to people. I stay in my little comfort zone, and pray that God will bring the people to me who need to be witnessed to. But didn’t God send us out into the world? Shouldn’t we be in the world (though not of it, of course)? If you want to catch a lot of fish, you can’t do it from the shore. Sure, you might get a stray fish here and there, but to really get to where the fish are? You have to get into the river, waist-deep, among the rocks and currents, away from the safety of the shore, to be a real fisher. Isn’t the same true of being a fisher of man?

    (sorry if I just started rambling off-topic. I do that a lot…)

  2. I have learned that it is normally not best to stay in “my corner of the forest” because I have moved so much. When we move somewhere new or go to a new church and no one introduces themselves it is really kind of hurtful. It makes you feel like no one cares, so when I see someone that looks new at church or wherever, I try to introduce myself. I know how it feels to be the one on the other end.

    (I’m not sure if that makes much sense. I couldn’t figure out how to word it.)

    Sarah

  3. No, it makes all the sense in the world. Knowing what it’s like to be on the recieving end definitely goads us to reach out to others (which is definitely a good thing). If we all thought more about other people than ourselves, who knows what we could be capable of accomplishing?

Leave a Reply

