Summer nights …

If you get a chance, go outside one night soon and check out twilight. Not at the theater. The FOR REAL twilight. I don’t really know why they named a story about vampire love after this part of the evening, because it is so peaceful and undisturbed, not “angsty” at all.

There’s lots of blue in the sky, not quite black, with the tiniest hint of leftover orange from the sun. The stars are just starting to come out.

At  my house, the woods fill up with fireflies. At first, there are just a few, then they all start glowing at the same time. I wish there were a way to take a picture of them. The Owl City song is perfect for my backyard.

When you look back at your house, all the lit-up windows glow like a Thomas Kinkade painting, even if you don’t live in a cottage. The nighttime sounds and the perfect temperature make you want to stay outside, though.

Check it out.

2 thoughts on “Summer nights …

  1. Not as many fireflies (at least not at that hour) in my area, and the crickets and cicadas make quite a racket. But the stars… they just fill me with awe. They look close enough to touch, yet I know they are light years away. When I see them, I think of that verse in Isaiah (I think?) about God calling forth each of the starry host by name. And because of His great power, not one of them is missing. (I’m paraphrasing, you probably know the verse better than I do…)

  2. Found it, so I thought I’d post it (even if you already know it pretty well):

    “‘To whom will you compare me?
    Or who is my equal?’ says the Holy One.”

    “Lift your eyes and look to the heavens:
    Who created all these?
    He who brings out the starry host one by one,
    and calls them each by name.
    Because of his great power and mighty strength,
    not one of them is missing.”

    Isaiah 40:25-26

    (Isaiah is much more eloquent than my paraphrasing. I’m glad I found the passage)

Leave a Reply

