Frodo and Gandalf.

“I wish the ring had never come to me. I wish none of this had happened.”

“So do all who live to see such times, but that is not for them to decide. All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to us.”

I can relate to Frodo. I wish I had never met [person]. I wish I had never lost [person]. I wish I had never found out. I wish someone had noticed. I wish none of this had happened TO ME.

Then God says, “But where would you be if everything had happened like you wished it?”

Complacent? Untouched? Untested? Ruined? Wasted? Naive? Possibly. We never know what would have happened.

The only thing we get to decide is what to do now. Do we stand there and whine? Do we scream? Do we fall silent? Do we bury it all away and try to forget?

No. We do the next thing, we keep our eyes on Jesus, and we walk on. We remain grateful that our lives have been spared. Being alive is a gift, not a right, and nobody deserves it. Don’t waste the gift. Decide what to do with the time you’ve been given.

One thought on “Frodo and Gandalf.

  1. Wow. That was a really, really great reminder to me. In a very few amount of words you gave me a very fresh perspective, which is something I could use right now. Thanks for the great post! :)

Leave a Reply

