The cure for pain.

One of my favorite songs is “The Cure for Pain” by Jon Foreman. I’m reminded of God’s faithfulness every time I hear it, because I have wondered many of the things mentioned in the song. Here are the lyrics:

So I’m not sure why it always flows downhill
Why broken cisterns never could stay filled
I’ve spent ten years singing gravity away
But the water keeps on falling from the sky

And here tonight while the stars are blacking out
With every hope and dream I’ve ever had in doubt
I’ve spent ten years trying to sing these doubts away
But the water keeps on falling from my eyes

(chorus)
And heaven knows, heaven knows
I tried to find a cure for the pain
Oh my Lord! To suffer like you do
It would be a lie to run away

So blood is fire pulsing through our veins
We’re either riders or fools behind the reins
I’ve spent ten years trying to sing it all way
But the water keeps on falling from my tries

(chorus)

Is there a cure for pain?

“The pain I feel now is the happiness I had before. That’s the deal.” — C.S. Lewis

Do we need one?

Without pain, there would be no sacrificial love. There would be no purpose to loving anything because we would not anticipate pain upon losing that which we loved. Love is never painless.

Besides, why would someone need our love if there was no pain to be protected from, no pain to be afraid of, no pain one couldn’t face alone?

Pain without love is dreadful. Love without pain is meaningless. We need both. There is a cure for neither.

One thought on “The cure for pain.

  1. I love your last paragraph. It is so true. Without pain there would be no meaningful love. Without love, especially Christ’s love, pain would be unbearable.
    Until Christ returns we will have both pain and love. After He returns, we will still have meaningful love, but there will be no pain.

    Sarah Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

